Term Dates 2022:

Term 3: Monday 25 July - Friday 30 September

Term 4: Monday 17 October - Thursday 15th December (half day)

_________________________

Term Dates 2023
Term 1 : Wednesday 1 February -Thursday 6 April
Term 2: Monday 24 April - Friday 30 June
Term 3: Monday 17 July - Friday 22 September
Term 4: Monday 9 October - Friday 15 December (half day)
_______________________________
2023 Public Holidays (during Term time):
Term 1:
Waitangi Day - 6 February
Good Friday - 7 April
Term 2:
Anzac Day - 25 April 
Queen's Birthday - 6 June
Matariki - 24 June
Term 3: Nil
Term 4: Labour Day 24 October

Contact Details:

Rotorua Specialist School
36 Kea Street
Selwyn Heights
ROTORUA 3015
Phone: (07) 3476717
Fax no: (07) 3476714
Email: office@rss.ac.nz

Aorangi - Room 9

Room 9 Aorangi   Junior Class Tm 1 2022

Our satellite class started last year at Aorangi Primary School. We have 5 students, 3 girls, 2 boys and 2 Teacher Aides. We follow the school curriculum with a focus on communication in all we do. Mornings are filled with Literacy and Numeracy learning tasks with breaks for fun fitness activities. Having a smartBoard enables students to clearly see the movements they are learning and enjoy fun songs/videos. We follow school wide topics each term, 2022’s overall theme is “Our Planet, Earth”.

In breaks we visit the junior school playground and are also able to use PMP, Perceptual Motor Programme, equipment in the school hall to enhance physical skills. Other activities include Art, swimming, Public Library and playground visits. When Covid restrictions are over we look forward to resuming these visits.

 Learning life skills is another focus so unpacking school bag, hanging it up, correct grip on writing tool, using scissors and glue stick correctly are all skills we practise. We have specialists who visit weekly, Speech Language Therapist, Physio, Occupational Therapist, Music and Maori Waiata Tutors.

Kathryn Beattie

Class Teacher